Skip to content

Come write with me!

April 16, 2009

Hello creative person!

By reading this you have already passed the first test, you’re a smart cookie. So why not take it a stage further by joining forces with me to write a book! Yes a book!

My latest harebrained scheme brilliant idea is to write, produce, and market an e-book, which will be freely downloadable, or we can ask for a small optional contribution to a charity. I would like to licence our creation under a creative commons licence and provide it in multiple formats, access to this work should not be restricted.

The grand aim here is to get 12 like-minded and creative people together from the field of IT and pool some talent. 12 seems a nice number, and the goal is for each of us to ‘own’ a chapter. Your chapter can be about anything that’s close to your heart, but lets keep it IT related please.

As a guide chapters should be in the order of 2000 – 3000 words but feel free to write as you see fit.

I am planning to write a chapter on e-commerce detailing the pros / cons and some opportunities for businesses looking to get into the market.

What do you get out of this?

The main aim of this is enjoyment, getting together and doing something creative with some other smart people is the primary goal. However, I am a pragmatist and each contributor will get a chance to pimp either themselves or their company.

So, what do we need?

Lots:

* 12 11 writers – one for each chapter
* Proof readers
* A great speaker for the audio book
* Someone creative for direction (cover, logo, website etc)
* Hosting
* Social networking junkies to pimp it

If you are interested please get in touch (or leave a comment), also if you have a friend or associates that would be interested in getting involved feel free to forward this link on.

From → Personal

11 Comments
  1. I accept the challenge, now what shall I write about? PHP, MVC, OO Programming, or JS, time to get brainstorming!

  2. Harebrained scheme indeed!

    I’d be interested in helping with the creative site if you like.

    Writing is not my best skill so probably wouldn’t want to get involved in that.

  3. I’d consider writing a chapter… I’m thinking about ‘starting a web business’ or something like that? Jotting down all the things I’ve learned in the past through my previous business ventures and freelancing positions.

  4. ‘Learning by Connecting’ – how we learn in new ways now, design for learning… and to include ideas/guidance on how to promote systemic learning in your organisation through personal connections and heightened awareness facilitated by e-.

  5. Sounds like a brilliant idea – count me in for a chapter. Will ponder a topic!

  6. Sounds interesting. Count me in.

  7. I’m in to write!

  8. I’m in! I’ll have to think about a good topic, probably something social-software related, I should imagine.

    If you’d like to, we could use a site I’m helping with, BookOven, which is designed to help writers collaborate. When we each have our chapters ready we can each upload them to the project, leave comments for each other and proofread everything collectively. The site’s in alpha atm, but there are invitations available here:

    http://chocolateandvodka.com/2009/04/01/proofreading-the-public-domain/

    We’ve lots more functionality to come, but it would be great to have a project like this to test it out with. :D

  9. Wow!

    Thanks for the interest everyone, I am a little staggered at the uptake to be honest, superb!

    I am looking to set up a collaboration tool to assist the creation of our masterpiece, so drop me a mail bendyer (at) gmail.com and lets get this thing to the launch pad.

  10. My sword and steed by your side Bendy.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Throw in with Ben, Write a Book. « Vitamin Briefcase

Leave a comment