Skip to content

Living with Linux

February 25, 2007

Feb Screenshot

Its an age old post topic, people moving over to Linux then blogging about it. Well its my turn, as I have finally moved my creaking laptop over to Ubuntu.

So here we go, Ubuntu, my first real foray into the Linux world after being a Unix (HPUX) veteran a few years ago. So why Ubuntu? Well its quite simple really, I had heard of it and the download was a tiny 600Mb. I was going to go with Fedora Core but the download of 7 x 600Mb iso scared off my bandwidth.

First impressions are, wow, this is great. I like the simplicity of Ubuntu, it feels very clean and bloat free and after some skinning I have a look and feel I really like, but the best thing is, its fast!

My laptop has been a real nightmare for me, I have a pretty good HP Compaq nc8230 with 2Gbs of RAM, with fresh installs of XP it plays havoc with the CPU, apparently with the Intel M processors this is quite common, very frustrating. Vista is also a complete nightmare (and I am a bit of a Microsoft fanboy), it it just unusable on an year old laptop. Ubuntu has probably given my laptop a further couple of years life, I think.

I have always liked the *nix way of doing things, so knowing the difference between dir and ls -l is a major advantage, however the smart chaps at Ubuntu have prebundled the latest release (Edgy) with a DOS emulator, to ease the path for people less in the know. Also plug and play, cool, I thought that didn’t happen with Linux, I had half wanted to spend hours farting around mounting filesystems (ie digital cameras), and compiling drivers for webcams, you spoilsports.

However, not everything is rosey. There are a couple of things that are frustrating:

  • My firm uses the rather excellent Cisco VPN, which is available in Linux favours, however I am yet to get the thing to work, and if I do its only available in command line, no GUI. Alternate VPNs don’t use the Cisco Concentrator so are no good.
  • All my websites are coded in the rather retro asp (its going to have a renascence, honest) and surprisingly it dosn’t work with Apache out of the box.
  • I am yet to find a decent wysiwyg web editor, however this is less of a problem as there are tonnes.
  • Oh and no WPA wireless support out the box, crazy!

So, I can’t quite ditch the wonderful world of windows just yet, enter stage right VMware. You all know what VMware is so I wont preach to the converted, but running a virtual XP machine on a Linux master is frankly brilliant. With this new VM I can connect it up to my work domain, run Dreamweaver when I have to, VPN in, everything is peachy.

So all in all I am a happy man, my laptop is running nicely and there are no random CPU freakouts.

I dont know if I am ready to move my main machine over to Linux just yet, I would need to be totally happy productivity wouldn’t take a nosedive, but if its a toss up between Ubuntu and Vista, I think I know which one I would opt for *.

* Linux obviously, well apart from the Media Center, that needs the excellent MCE like I need a bottle of Merlot each evening.

From → Personal

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

